In the World of the Have Nots, It all ADDIEs Up

I live in the have-not world of instructional design. I have for over 30 years. So, I wince when I read articles on ID that talk about the duties of the subject matter expert, the scriptwriter, the producer, the production crew members, etc.

The closest I ever came to having all of this was my first job out of school. I was the Instructional Television Producer/Director (also the scriptwriter and editor). I had an Engineer who handled all technical matters (and sometimes served as camera operator or lighting director), a graphic artist (another camera operator), an office secretary who evolved into a camera operator and, eventually, a fine assistant director (also a script editor and camera operator). And 2-3 Work Study students rounded out the crew. Instructors served as content experts and either did the research or made sure it got done. Even with most people serving double duty, we had a pretty good little operation.

It went downhill from there. Since then, the best I’ve been able to muster up is a content expert/researcher and, occasionally, another technical/production person. Often it’s me and the content provider. Or just me.

The good thing about this is that you learn a lot. Quickly. You have to. Not an easy task for my brain cells, who were old before their time. Which is why I really appreciate things like ADDIE, the acronym that reminds those with little time to accomplish the task and no time to think about process.

Early on, I had to review the explanations of the Analysis, Design, Development, Implementation, and Evaluation stages. And I will occasionally glance at them. The important thing is that when time is precious and I am the human resource, I can focus on the task, not the process.

There are other acronymmed design systems that I’ve used (ASSURE comes to mind) that work well. Again, they free the mind from the process to focus on the task. I guess this is an extension of my love for “how-to” books, guides, and articles.

Moore and Kearsley’s Distance Education offers a great section (Chapter 5) on designing web pages, study guides, and other instructional ancillary items and activities. While not compacted into an acronym, resources such as this come in handy for those of us who design in the world of the have-nots.

Leave a Reply

